Smokin’

“Above all, keep fervent in your love for one another, because love covers a multitude of sins.”  1 Peter 4:8

134333 I read this verse the other night and rolled over in bed and shook my husband.  “Onslow!  Did you see this?  You’re supposed to be madly and deeply in love with me, ALL the time!”  I imagine before I would have read this and applied it to the church.  But this time I read the word “fervent” and mistook it for hot.  134336Naturally, it’s always nice when Boy walks in the front door with a dopey smile on his face and the mistaken assumption that I’m a mix of Yamila Diaz and Mother Theresa.  But face it, some days I’m right up there with Imelda Marcos.  And sometimes he’s a cheap bastard who brought home generic mayonnaise and didn’t use shampoo because he didn’t feel like he “needed” it.  Still, I’ve noticed how much easier things go when you’re in love.  Love covers.  Plus, I would just like to think that I have a Biblical mandate for romance.  The infatuated, disgusting, slightly obnoxious kind.  Make it a point.  And of course, if he doesn’t like it, he can take it up with the Apostle Peter.  That’s right.

Leave a Reply

