Happy “Just Because” Flu

You’re kidding me, right?  No, I am not.  Here we go again.

I spent all day in bed yesterday with either one or all children.  They would stack their English books on top of me and ask me about simple sentences with compound verbs while the baby licked my face.  Being in bed is one thing, sleeping is another.  After lunch I decided to let the older kids outside and put Judith and Rahab in their room to play.  I figured I had maybe a twenty minute nap before the crying set in.  I was wrong.  They were as quiet as ninjas.

When I woke up Rahab was stark naked, covered in lipstick, and quietly sitting in the bathroom with Judith.  Apparently they had unrolled a whole roll of toliet paper into the toilet – AND then took it all back out again.  Next they pulled all the towels out from under the sink, started unwrapping sanitary napkins and sticking them to the walls.  From the hall you could see the trail of destruction leading to the bathroom.  All the clothes were pulled from the closet and thrown on the floor.  Lipstick murals adorned the walls.  A Costco size bag of wipes was distributed from Dan to Beersheba.  And it is my suspicion that someone peed on the floor.  I was not surprised.

what did you do all dayLet’s just say when Daddy Boy got home he was not impressed.  I gave the royal wave and went to bed.  I slept like a baby from 6:00 p.m. to 7:30 a.m.  And apparently Marc put the fear of God into the boys, because they won’t let the girls in the basement.  It is going to be clean when father gets home.  And I guess the easiest solution is to not let Rahab near it.  If only I was as sagacious.  I just find it crazy the things that happen when I’m out of commission.  The caption that goes with this picture is, “You know every day when you come home from work and you ask me what in the world do I do all day?…  Well today I didn’t do it.”  Amen.

Leave a Reply

