Rhubarb Custard Pie

I think one of the most necessary things a woman can have is a good rhubarb pie recipe.  That is, if you have more rhubarb plants than you know what to do with.  And I do.  The stuff is a weed.  What’s better than pie from weeds?DSC00802 To me, the trick to a good rhubarb pie is not having to use too much sugar.  I don’t want to have to rely on finding strawberries somewhere either.  These pies have 1 1/4 cups of sugar each.  The remaining tartness is cut by an egg custard.  Not too sweet with a little protein to carry the sugar.  The result being that these are my workhorse pies.  I can make them up at the drop of a hat and always have the ingredients.  Have pies, will travel.  DSC00804 Some years ago, I decided I was going to make a pie a week until I figured it out.  It took a few goes before I settled on Smitten Kitchen’s all butter pie crust.  I make it in my Kitchen Aid and I don’t have any trouble.  I think it’s just one of those things you have to do a few times to figure out.  After that, the going is easy.  For the rhubarb recipe you basically mix 2 1/2 cups of sugar, 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon, 1/8 teaspoon nutmeg, dash of salt, 1/2 cup of flour, 6 eggs, and around 8 cups of rhubarb (you want it to heap up in the plates).  Divide it between two pies and dot the tops with 4 tablespoons of butter.  I like to brush the lattice with a mix of 1 tablespoon heavy cream and 1 egg.  Then sprinkle with sugar.

DSC00806Bake at 375 degrees for 50-55 minutes.  I use a foil guard on the crust for the first 25 minutes and then take it off.  This pie does need to cool for a couple hours though so try not to jump the gun.  And really, it’s not rocket science.  The stigma that is attached to pie making is one that wears off after actually making a pie.  I think we should do it more often.  Whenever I show up somewhere with a pie I get the impression that people haven’t seen one since Thanksgiving two years ago, when they visited their grandma in the Dakotas.  Like they’re on the extinction list or something.  Well things are about to change.  Don’t you think?

3 thoughts on “Rhubarb Custard Pie

    • Oh good, we like girls who make pie often. 😉 I don’t think it’s the best pie ever, but it’s just good to know that practically all spring/summer/fall long I can make a pie if I have to. Raspberry season is a little more exciting.

Leave a Reply

