Lemon Curd and Babies

I love baking.  There is a satisfaction that comes with “making” just about anything.  But it’s hard to top the stuff that you get to eat when you’re done.  Perhaps why I’m always gnawing on the baby.  A baby is the downright best thing you can create.  Unfortunately, they cry when you bite them.

DSC00811I especially love how baking squeezes itself so satisfyingly into everyday life.  I may be too busy to take art lessons, or photography classes, or design my own line of floral active wear.  But I can make cookies.  What’s even better is that it doesn’t subtract from the priority of my family, it adds to it.  Baking fills the cracks of the good life with lemon curd, homemade whipped cream, and cinnamon drizzle.  It’s something no one seems to complain about.  I don’t bake every day, but when I plan my menu at the beginning of the week I always pick one fun dessert and one simple one.  That way, during the week, when a good time presents itself I can jump in.  I don’t have to think about what I should make, figure out if I have everything, or make an extra trip to the store.  I just do it.  And usually, there are lots of people around who want to help.  These are Lemon Curd Sweet Rolls I made for Bible study this week.  At first I was hesitant because the recipe called for a store-bought jar of lemon curd.  That’s cheating.  But when I saw one at Trader Joe’s for $1.69 I was like, “Go ahead, make my day.”  And it did.

 

Leave a Reply

