A Baking Update

Not that you need to know everything that I eat.  But in this case, I think you really do.

dsc00935Sorry, the cookies aren’t all that (too much sugar), but they’re the only dessert I took a picture of.  The lesson learned was simply that speculoos makes an awesome cookie drizzle for you next batch of peanut butter cookies or gingerbread.  Just warm it up and go to town.  The real show stopper was the Lemon Velvet Cream Pie.  It’s not often that things make my repeat list, and dang.  Not to sweet with a chiffon texture and, of course, lots of lemon.  You need some.  Also, I made some Rhubarb Cream Cheese Hand Pies for breakfast on Saturday.  I had extra pie crust from the lemon adventure and so I thought what the hey. My husband was not convinced.  “Pie is not breakfast.”

“What?!  In my world pie IS breakfast.”

“Don’t tell me about your world honey.  In your world pie mashed into grape-nuts is breakfast.”

Hey now, don’t judge me by my family.  😛

I had bumped into the rhubarb recipe a few times before but never considered making it.  I don’t have time to make tiny pies, I need to make big ones.  But since I already had the dough and the rhubarb was sitting out the front door, I went for it.  A cliff I am quite willing to run and jump off again.  Really, best thing ever.  Anyways, I thought I would share since I hardly revisit recipes.  But I will be making both of these again as soon as I can.

 

6 thoughts on “A Baking Update

  1. So. My comment isn’t about your baking day. I have a question about your Chromebook that you posted about a couple weeks ago. I am totally not tech-savvy, but am in the market for a laptop-like device that I can use for emailing, keeping up with a few blogs (ones I read, not ones I write) and creating Word documents. Would the Chromebook work for that? The price is incredibly tantalizing.

    • Yep, that’s what it’s good for. Chrome has this app called Google Docs, which is an online word processor. I find it very smart and convenient. What I like most though is that the Chromebook has the portability and ease of a tablet with the functionality of a keyboard. Which means I can drag it around with me through the day. I use it for recipes, chatting, music, phone calls, etc. I certainly wouldn’t want anything bigger. At first I thought the smaller screen would be hard for blogging, but it works out quite well. And it comes in colors. I waited forever for them to be back in stock because I couldn’t bring myself to buy the exact same thing in black. 😉

  2. Ok, since the off-topic door has already been opened, I’m going on in. I love, love your Red Girl Red State stickers, any chance you could sell ’em for other red states? (like SC) 🙂

    • I’ve actually made up a sticker for Montana that’s ready to go to print. And a “Red Girl, Blue State” silhouette ready to make up for Washington. All with different models. If you have any guns and babies laying around you should send me a picture and I can see what I can do. 😉 The trick is getting them to print since I think it’s $200 for a bulk order. But yes, I would love to make them for different states, with different mamas. But I don’t seem to be in any great hurry, from what I can see….

  3. No shortage of guns or babies around here. I’ll get you a photo ASAP. Have you looked into Cafe Press? They claim to have no up front costs.

Leave a Reply

