Ottos do the Fair

I tried to talk the kids into going to the Tour de Fat instead.  It’s free and the Boise fair is a rip off.  They were interested at first.  “What is it?”  

“It’s when a bunch of drunk people ride their bicycles to the park in Halloween costumes.”  

“Cool.”  

But interest waned when I brought up the tattoos and naked women.  Children are such prudes.  The fair it is. 

DSC02202

First up were the Axe Women of Maine.  An all around nice group of girls.  I went right home and looked it up, and sure enough, the University of Idaho is home to a logger sports team.  I told my sister to get on it.

DSC02213

Axe throwing can only add to anyone’s resume.

DSC02223

Jael was ready for us to sign her up.

DSC02226

Gitard.

DSC02228

Hughbert.

DSC02229

Rabbers.

DSC02232

Noodle.

DSC02235

Watching the tiny baby quails hatch.

DSC02238

One leggy chicken.

DSC02242

The boys spent a long time at the bean toss.  No one could get it in the hole.  Except for Mommy.  I nailed it on my second try and then rubbed it in with due enthusiasm.  Ha, take that.

DSC02255 (1)

Three ranchers sleeping in the cattle barn.  Which, seriously, is the last place I would EVER park my lounge chair.  Much less set up my coffee pot.  In fact, I don’t know what possessed me to walk through the building at all.  My standards are slipping.

DSC02260

The goats were a more orderly lot.  Even their poop was impeccable.

DSC02267

Maybe Daddy will get us one….

DSC02271 DSC02273

Here is one of the 4-H girls with her goat on a leash.  I had to take her picture because it doesn’t get much cuter than that.

DSC02279

If the carnies didn’t scare me so much I would love to walk through the fair and photograph everything.  I love all the colors and general tawdriness.  As is, I’m more of a walk fast and don’t make eye contact kind of person.

DSC02283 DSC02286

But that doesn’t stop me from taking the occasional stalker photo when no one is looking.  Those are some nice legs.DSC02289

Marc liked the sign on the BBQ truck.  It works out very well, me being a vegetarian and him being a BBQ purist.  He only likes meat tried by fire, not by women.  He doesn’t even like grills.  When he wants to cook the deer he shot, he goes out and puts sticks together from his own trees, and lights them up.  The old fashioned way.

DSC02294

The girls traveling in reverse.  It’s sooo funny.

DSC02300

We were on our way out the gate when Daddy decided to take the kids on the Ferris wheel.  Marc had asked the boys earlier if they thought they needed to go on a ride.  They withdrew for a mini-conference and came back and announced, “We can go home now, if you take us to the library.”  Carnival vs. library, and the library wins every time.  Jael, on the other hand, thought that was kind of messed up.  

DSC02306

Daddy does have a soft spot for the ladies.

DSC02311

Gideon lived to regret it.  But I’m sure he reached the point (somewhere near the top) where that was all he asked.DSC02313

You can see him holding on with a death grip and saying his prayers.

DSC02321DSC02316DSC02319DSC02324

I caught Jael making this face.  It’s kind of misleading because she had the most fun out of all of them.  Still, if that’s not classic Jael, I don’t know what is.

DSC02326DSC02327DSC02340

Escaping with their lives.

DSC02341

The petting zoo.

DSC02360

The highlight was getting to milk a cow.  Gideon and Jehu had some interesting observations, which I don’t care to mention.

DSC02380DSC02385

Walking across the sea of parking lot in 90 degree weather.

DSC02390

We had fun.  I love being with my kids.  No melt downs, no whining, no fighting.  They’re just downright jolly.

DSC02393

The girls entertaining the boys by riding upside down.  Judith started it.  She’s not big on stroller safety.  By the time we got to the van Rahab had joined in.

 DSC02398

Silly girls.  

DSC02399

I was in the Idaho Youth Ranch the other day when I heard an older lady say, “That little girl just came by running.  If I see her again I’m going to have to tell her to stop.”  Her partner in crime was quick to agree, “Oh, I know.  That’s just not safe.”  Ladies, whatever you do, don’t come to my house.  Because we’re all going to die.  It couldn’t be more obvious.

Leave a Reply

