Almond Jewels

We made these turdy little cookies yesterday to run to a friend’s house for a housewarming snack.  Healthy cookies are always a little turdy.

DSC02437

Lately I’ve been trying to find more healthy dessert recipes.  Not that I don’t like honest to goodness baked goods, the kind made with real sugar, but sometimes they’re just TOO much.  You feel ill after you eat one.  I want to eat five.  I have an agenda.  A lot of my friends just halve the sugar in traditional recipes.  Which is one way to go about it.  But there are a lot of alternative recipes worth trying as well.  I like how these are made with two cups of whole almonds that you blend into the flour.  They are sweetened with a mix of brown sugar and applesauce.  Because really, there is just too much white sugar in circulation.  In a knock your socks off kind of way.  Nobody needs that.  Kind of like over-salting your food.  Except not, because I have nothing against that at all.

10 thoughts on “Almond Jewels

  1. We love black bean brownies! They use dates for sweetness, applesauce instead of oil, and no flour! Recipe at ifoodreal.com. Thanks for the preschool advice. That was my thought too but it’s nice to get confirmation that I’m not totally off my rocker.

    • That looked like a very promising website. I’ll be trying it out, as well as the black bean brownies. How can I resist? 😉 I think you have the other backwards though. Now you KNOW you’re totally off your rocker since you were thinking like me.

  2. We love ourselves a good snack cookie around here, too. I’ve been making these ones Mackenzie’s mom put in our church cookbook. I could rustle up the recipe if you’re interested.

  3. I’m gonna have to try me some of those! For some reason, surely not from personal experience, I believe you when you say there are cookies that burn a hole in your pantry, or more likely your cooling rack, or even more likely the bowl before they even become cookies. Anyway, you might not want to make these unless you really have to pack on the calories for a nursing infant: http://moscowfoodies.com/post/51009808134/super-mama-lactation-cookies
    I tone the flax seed down quite a bit and sub craisins for half the chocolate chips, and once I even subbed bacon grease for half of the butter amount (because dairy is insanely expensive up here in Canada).

  4. Oh! And here’s Sue Struble’s recipe:
    Mock Baker’s Breakfast Cookie
    2 c brown sugar
    2 1/2 c old fashioned oats
    4 c flour
    1 t baking soda
    1 t salt
    1 1/2 t cinnamon
    1/4 c oil
    1/2 c prune puree
    2 T water
    3 eggs
    1 1/2 t vanilla
    3/4 c raisins
    1/4 c chopped walnuts
    1/3 c dried apricots

    Stir dry ingredients together. Mix wet ingredients and add. It will be very thick batter. Make golf-ball-sized cookies. Put onto greased cookie sheet. Flatten with wet palm or glass. Bake 8 to 10 minutes at 350 degrees.

    Christina’s changes: use half white sugar, use half whole wheat flour, sub extra oil or applesauce for prune puree, craisins instead of raisins, no nuts, chop apricots, add a couple chopped prunes; just sayin’, you can mix it up!

Leave a Reply

