Walter and Odessa

Happy birthday!

DSC02659

My youngest siblings jointly celebrated their birthdays a few weekends back.  I uploaded all 100 photos for you.  Consequently, if I even try to open the previous blog post my editor freaks out and dies.  Which is why there is no text and the photos are vomited on the page in no recognizable order.  For their birthday Natalie and Reuben decided to host an archery tea party for children.  Twenty-two of them to be exact.  That’s their idea of a good time.  If you got a chance to look at the photos you would have observed that they were right.  Here is a picture of them opening their present to each other.

“Natalie, you shouldn’t have!”

In short succession they also opened a scope, bipod, and sling.  My brother and sister are very expensive vegetarians.

DSC02660

Reuben also went and bought party favors for all the children.  Which included a bow and arrow, trebuchet, and a whole slew of pocket knives.  As one mother observed, “These are the kind of people who put guns in Bibles and hand out knives to toddlers.”  And whenever my friend Mackenzie brings her six children out to my parents’ place, she  she is known to watch them like a hawk with hysterical neurosis.  Also known as common sense and good parenting.  I don’t watch my children at all.  I just assume they are around somewhere and not bleeding too profusely.  Mackenzie wanted  to know how no one ever died.  “Oh they’re fine,” I insisted.  “How is this fine?” she wanted to know, as she gesticulated to an unattended one year old half way up an extension ladder.  I snatched her down.

“See…fine.”  🙂

One thought on “Walter and Odessa

  1. Your parents’ place pretty much sounds like my in-laws’ place…completely unsafe and ridiculously fun for children. I’m the first of 5 (thus far) sister-in-laws, and whenever a new one starts having babies, it’s rather humorous to watch the process of them adjusting their lofty protective parenting plans to match the crazy setting that is my in-laws’ property. It takes a little while to numb yourself to the instinct to snatch toddlers off of extension ladders, and tell all 6 of the 3-year-old boys not to run with sharpened sticks that have been ignited in the camp fire. But you get there after a few years. 😉

Leave a Reply

