Kitchen Groupie

I’ve been working on my spur of the moment kitchen design.  It’s amazing how long it takes to wrap your head around a blank slate.  When I sat back and considered my final design I was shocked that it took me so long to come up with THAT.

Screenshot 2015-01-19 at 9.26.04 AM Screenshot 2015-01-19 at 9.24.15 AM

I mean, that’s only half a kitchen.  Where is the rest of it you ask?  In flooring.  Originally I was thinking $5,000 for floors and $5,000 for a kitchen.  Now it’s more like 7/3.  This is the three.

Screenshot 2015-01-19 at 9.18.26 AM

But I’m excited, because even with only base cabinets this kitchen is still bigger than my old one.  It even boasts a whopping 7.5 feet of uninterrupted counter.  The other nice thing was that I was able to splurge on almost all drawers for my cabinets.  Bending over and looking in dark holes is not my thing.  The exception is the built-in pantry around the fridge, which is shelf room only.  Not that I even needed a pantry (since there already is one), I just didn’t want to look at the fridge.  Plus it helped break up the hall-like feel of the kitchen and give it a custom quality.  Even if I have to be ferreting around looking for all my tinned goods.  On the bright side, the spices will have their own drawers with instant visibility, along with the pots and pans.

fac611d546306736fb7a8b47c033426d (1)

When I first started thinking about the kitchen I knew almost instantly that I wanted gold.  That’s how it all started.  And since I wanted wood floors I didn’t want wood cabinets, which is how I ended up with grey.  Then I saw white subway tiles with black grout on Pinterest.  I thought they were ugly.  And then I kinda liked them.  I hope to be able to run them counter to ceiling on the wall with the stove and windows.

8aee661250c3ce65ea1d8ab9cbc40054

Since I have access to wood I thought some hardwood open shelving would be nice.  Especially since I wasn’t doing upper cabinets.  That way I would have an easily accessible place for the dishes we use everyday.  I’m currently thinking of one long, low shelf over the 7.5′ stretch of counter and gold pendant lighting.

aeb8dcce393a26a86e538c8ba476cfed

I also hope to do butcher block counters.  But I was afraid with all the wood and paneled cabinets things would start looking too traditional for my “mid-century modern” pile of bricks.  So I added a long row of these super sleek drawers with integrated handles to kick it up a notch.  Plus, a row of paneled drawers will be too busy, not to mention harder to wipe down.

af8ff457ec3b4a8b7b0c69ecb2ac8b2c (2)

After trolling Pinterest and collecting bits and pieces of things, I found one picture that came the closest to what I wanted.  Isn’t it pretty and so grown up?

39d96c8df97d905c47b59019bbfc4466

I showed it to my friend Mackenzie and she asked, “Who are you and when did you become so trendy?”  I’m sorry, I didn’t mean too.  But when I double checked online, sure enough.  Y’all can go buy me a Hannah Montanna t-shirt now, because according to this article, I am the very definition of what’s hot for the next two seconds.  But sorry, it’s too late now, because I’m not doing it all over again.

DSC00012

2 thoughts on “Kitchen Groupie

Leave a Reply

