Camping

Except when I say it, it sounds like a dirty word.  Part of the reason I was MIA a while back was because I visited my family in northern Idaho for two weeks.  I stayed with them one week while my children went to music camp, and then we spent the next week on the Selway.

IMG_0269 IMG_0271

We told them they had to get the firewood stacked before we could leave.  Look at them go.

IMG_0277

Then I loaded 9 people in my van with a two week supply of clothes and 8 hydrangea bushes.  Which did seem to survive the ordeal and are now happily planted in my yard.

IMG_0301

IMG_0323

When we got to camp Natalie leaped from the van and proceeded to disinfect the outhouse.  Because I never go camping without the proper staff.

IMG_0374

IMG_0388

Eve about to fall out of the tent camper.IMG_0397

We had two beaches on opposite sides of the river and spent most of our time going back and forth between them.

IMG_0401IMG_0422IMG_0412

It was fun to watch the kids slowly gain confidence in the water and begin to trust their life jackets.  Here they are swimming from one beach to the other.  If we would have stayed their any longer either they would have learned how to swim or would have drowned.  We caught Rezon a couple times pushing out to take off with the canoe.  “Looking for waterfalls, Rez?”

IMG_0432

One of our favorite things to do was go upstream a mile and catch about five rapids before we ended up back at camp.  The first time we went I was like, who needs tubes?  Because really, swimming down river freestyle is about the most fun that can be had.  Until you die.  So Natalie and I mooched a ride on our niece’s tube, so we didn’t get blended up on the rocks.  Conveniently they both got tossed off on the first rapid, leaving me with the tube all to myself.  I waved as I floated away telling them to shut their mouths when they were drowning so they didn’t drink so much of the river.

IMG_0437

What those wedgie straps are actually good for.

IMG_0462

Mer-Cow and Mer-Horse giving the mermaids “baths” for the night.  And those are the kinds of nicknames that stick with you.  Unfortunately.

IMG_0494

What am I even supposed to do with that?  I think she wants me to take it.

IMG_0517 IMG_0520

Eve and her opposable legs.

IMG_0525

Hanging up the hammocks.

IMG_0536 IMG_0537 IMG_0548

Grandad taught all of the children how to eat charcoal.  I looked out the window at home and found Judith and Rahab cleaning out the BBQ pit.  “But mommy, it’s good for you!”

IMG_0551 IMG_0552 IMG_0560

Doodoo and Grandad going for a walk.

IMG_0563

Almost all the reasons I don’t like camping crammed into one picture/tent camper.  In the rain.

IMG_0577 IMG_0578

Same story, different day, but with honey AND pancake syrup.  Ugh.

IMG_0581

Reuben napping in his canoe while Rezon fished.

IMG_0591 IMG_0603 IMG_0605 IMG_0611

Everyone going to the other beach.

IMG_0625

“Are you sure you don’t want to come?  You’re going to stay here all by yourself?”

IMG_0633

Don’t worry, I have a book.

Leave a Reply

