The Desert

We went hiking in the foothills on Saturday.  Boise is ALL about the foothills and it’s 130 mile trail system. But on a hot day, when you look up at the barren hills, you just have to wonder why.  Who would ever go up there?  Maybe they’re desperate.  Maybe they don’t know better.

IMG_2805

But still, in the right weather, you have to admit the foothills are kind of nice.  There is something breathtaking about the sagebrush infused air and the view.  It clears the mind.  There is this sense of clarity and openness that makes you want to run for miles.  But I can only run one.  (I’m working on it.)

IMG_2814

This running season I decided that I didn’t want to have to run on a paved street, ever again.  It’s demoralizing, and we have enough of that.  Fortunately, the Hyatt Nature Reserve is a short two mile drive down the road and I’ve been running with the kids there during the week.  It even has some nice elevation changes.  And one of my girlfriends has signed up to run the foothills with me on the weekends.  I’m so excited.

IMG_2815

I’ve always been enchanted with the idea of trail running.  But I’ve never felt like I had easy enough access to trails to make it an option.  Apparently I just didn’t look up.  And while the desert doesn’t seem that exciting, it’s kind of hard to beat when it comes to running through it in the fall weather, with the smell of sagebrush and unimpeded views in every direction.  Freedom.

IMG_2820

Here’s to me someday running more than one mile.  Let me know if you want to come.  😉

IMG_2825

Two-wheeling.

IMG_2828

Rescuing the baby.

IMG_2832

While we were there we were passed by a lady who was running.  Her eyes were bugging out and she was quite red as she packed it up the hill.  I turned to my husband and said, “See, doesn’t that look like fun.”  He looked at me like I was daft and gave the proper response.  “No.”

2 thoughts on “The Desert

Leave a Reply

