Food That Makes Children Cry

My menu from last week.

5CF97900-2329-4609-A026-E003ABE99924

I knew when I put Buffalo Falafel and Garlic Blue Cheese Fry Pitas with Ranch Style Tzatziki on the menu – that I was asking for trouble.  I’m not sure you can put more bad things in one sentence.  At dinner, when I called the children to come get their “falafel balls,” I couldn’t help but sound a little maniacal.  It was just too funny.  At least my husband liked it.

EFA60377-087C-45D2-915B-C2B7AFCA4D6C

In other news, we made even more Bolognese to use up the last of the tomatoes.  Another trick we employ during tomato season is beans and rice topped with copious amounts of homemade salsa.  The kind of salsa you can eat with a spoon.  It doesn’t seem to ever get old.  I also made three of my mother-in-law’s recipes this week.  Her broccoli soup is so easy and cheesy, and the children love it.  In short, steam/boil 4 heads of broccoli and one chopped onion in a couple inches of Better than Bouillon broth.  When it is softened, mash it all to smithereens and add a quart of cream – don’t return to boil.  Top with cheddar.  Can’t go wrong.  I also made her Funeral Potatoes recipe, which might just be the most Mormon of all dishes.  It’s perfect for feeding a crowd, goes together simply, is cheap, makes ahead easily, and can survive indeterminately in the oven.  I think I stuffed five pounds of hash browns in my deep dish baker and left it in the oven for two hours to feed the ten people we had over after church.  And then I followed it up with Gayla’s fry bread recipe.  Which is the BEST most important recipe I have.  I can make it with nothing and it feeds the Mongol Horde until they turn belly up, gurgling with delight.  It is my secret weapon.  Unless you’re gluten intolerant, then I have nothing on you.

17BD4BEA-FA80-48EE-849F-0D0A139743F4-0

We’ve also been making Buckeyes every time we turn around.  I should say, my husband has been making them.  He goes to the store for yogurt and bananas and comes back with a giant hunk of dark chocolate.  “I know you’re up to something, aren’t you?”  He employs all the children to roll the balls while he dips them in chocolate.  They are no bake, and while a little time consuming, they really aren’t that hard.  So you should try it.

**Funeral Potatoes

6-8 potatoes, baked, peeled, & shredded – or 1 package hash browns.  Stir in 1 can mushroom soup, 2 c. sour cream, 2 c. cheddar, and 1 can evaporated milk.  Place in 9×13 pan and sprinkle with crushed crackers.  Pour 1 cube of melted butter on top and bake at 375 degrees for 1 hour.

Leave a Reply

