What The Halloween Candy Did To Us

I’ve spent the weekend laying in bed watching period dramas in a sea of Kleenexes.  And not because I’m crying.  It’s just snot.  But that’s all right, I’ll soon be better.  And then I’ll get to clean the kitchen.  I’m sure it’s in there somewhere.

IMG_2716

Boy is sick too.  And Eve.  While we were semi-comatose we could hear the children rummaging about the house like cockroaches under the cover of darkness.  It makes for an uneasy convalescence.  :/  Last week’s menu:

IMG_3195

I recommend the Eggplant Gratin, Tomato Basil Soup, and Caramelized Onion Tarts (sub white wine for the water).  We were also lucky enough to snag company for our Friday night dinner.  Which I don’t even plan the food for anymore.  I just shuffle my meal schedule around on Monday so Friday looks decent.  After grocery day there is usually enough food at the ready to sustain company.  As long as I remember not to eat it.  Good plan, right?

IMG_3174

I used to orchestrate more elaborate meals for dinner parties.  Now I just give them food.  And I’ll tell you a secret.  They don’t mind.

One thought on “What The Halloween Candy Did To Us

Leave a Reply

