Advent 2015

I started planning for Advent on November 30th.  I scribbled down some notes on a piece of scrap paper.  And then I started to wing it.  Because what I have learned from Advents past is that children love Advent (so you have no choice).  And, secondly, it’s not hard.  Unless, of course, you bring it on yourself.  The antidote is to simply avoid Advent calendars in general, or anything that suggests you can, at any point, have all of your ducks in a row.  I decide on our Advent activity the night before, and then set it out in a miniature stocking.  That way I can decide what I think I’m up for the next day and adjust.  But, if I thought I had to have all of our activities lined up in their perfect Pinterest wall display, that mommy OD’d on, then I might be a bit nervous.  But mommy don’t care.

Here is our list for this year, in no real order:

  1. Make paper chains to count down to Christmas.
  2. Cut down the Christmas tree.  Don’t hurt yourself.
  3. Attend services at a Cathedral.
  4. Make glitter snow globes.
  5. Bake gingerbread men.
  6. Make clove pomanders.
  7. Watch A Christmas Story instead of doing math homework.
  8. Go to the Winter Garden Aglow.
  9. Visit a live Nativity.
  10. Make paper snowflakes.
  11. Bake cookies for the neighbors.
  12. Build a Lego Nativity.
  13. Make paper bag lanterns for the driveway.
  14. Sing carols in front of Planned Parenthood.
  15. Make pipe cleaner borax crystal ornaments.
  16. Make shrinky dinks.
  17. Make melted crayon art.
  18. Go caroling with friends.
  19. Jehu’s birthday party!
  20. Daddy’s birthday party!
  21. Make beaded pipe cleaner ornaments.

If you have never done Advent I would suggest you try it.  I initially pulled myself together because I felt like the holiday was passing by too fast.  Tackling Advent slows it down enough to touch.  Or, more realistically, to burn yourself on the hot glue gun.

3 thoughts on “Advent 2015

  1. Great ideas! We are making apple chips tomorrow, filling mason jars and giving them to teachers/neighbors. We’ve decorated the tree and made Christmas cookies. Other than that we do our magnetic advent calendar…when we remember. 🙂 I’m thinking about setting up their toy nativity scene before they wake up tomorrow 🙂 I love Christmas! I’ll probably be stealing some of your ideas! 😉

Leave a Reply

