It’s A New Dawn

“It’s a new day.  It’s a new life for me.  And I’m feeling good.”

IMG_4167

I love New Years.  I love lists, planning, and resolutions.  It’s only after a couple weeks that the glamour wears off.  Then I realize that it’s all just work.  But I like that too.  I guess New Years is that special time when I come up for air, take stock, and then plunge in, never to be seen again.  This year there were a few things I saw, before the muddy waters swallowed me whole.

#1  God is all in all.  This is something that I have always known to be true, but every year appears even more so.  “But the path of the righteous is like the light of dawn, which shines brighter and brighter until full day.”  This year I want more of God’s Word.  Right out of high school I started reading lots of theology, and did for years.  A few kids later, necessity dictated that I switch to listening to sermons.  Which I did by the thousands.  But somewhere between child 4 and 5 I realized I could no longer hear the sermons, above the distortion.  After feeling admittedly discouraged, it recently occurred to me that I can still listen to the Bible.  And I don’t even care if you’re screaming.  I can leave the room and come back and still be following the text.  I can be repeating it in my mind, even if I can no longer hear the words, because I have it memorized.  I can start it in any book, any chapter, and know right where I’m at.  I don’t have to find my spot.  I don’t have to worry if it’s going to be a “good” one.  I am never disappointed.  The Word is always full and I love how it fills my house.  A goal for this year is to listen to the Bible every day, on top of reading it.  Because it never comes back empty.

IMG_4170

#2  I want to honor my husband more.  I believe in the bestowing and receiving of honor.  In pretty much any format.  Because I believe in respect and authority, and there is no authority except from God.  It’s something I could always take for granted, but I keep noticing how much the world hates it.  So I want to rub it in.  Just for kicks.  I can’t help but feel a little mercenary about it, but I probably am.  I think of it this way, when my husband comes home from work with his crew, is he demoted or promoted?  This came to my attention when I actually got to see my husband with other mans.  Mans are so manly.  You know, when they’re out there on the rez.  They give and receive honor and it looks good on them.  I started to wonder if Marc’s crew was home with him, would he be demeaned by me?  Do his men do a better job honoring him than I do?  I would like to think that this is my job and that I do it best. I take that as a challenge.

IMG_4168

#3  I want my children to see Christ in me.  That is, in fact, why they are here.  Why they are with me.  Not so I can teach them English, but so I can show them love, so I can model grace, so I can be gratitude, so I can live faithfulness.  I know, it sounds so easy.  Ahhem.  This is, and will always be, the big picture.  This is what is first, not last.  This is who we are, not who we pretend to be.  For this year, and for every year, this is where I want my eyes to be.  Not incidentally, but intently.  In which case, we’d all better watch it.

IMG_4185

#4  I want to practice hospitality.  Not for my needs, but for the needs of others.  I want to see other people.  I want to pray for other people.  I want to know them, to be there for them, and to open my house to them.  Not as a recreational option, but because of who He is, and who He wants us to be.  “Love one another with brotherly affection. Outdo one another in showing honor. Do not be slothful in zeal, be fervent in spirit, serve the Lord. Rejoice in hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant in prayer. Contribute to the needs of the saints and seek to show hospitality.”

IMG_4176

#5  I want to take combat fitness, run 5 miles, and get my concealed carry permit.  Ha, ha!  That’s so funny.  Really, I just want to do all the things that I can’t do when I’m pregnant and nursing – so I can get pregnant and start nursing.  (The CCW permit is merely incidental.  Besides, the bullets are taking up too much room in the linen closet.)  What can I say?  Make hay while the sun shines.  In other words, when my husband is ready for another baby, I want to be way ahead of him.  Having kids is no easy thing, nor is it easy on you.  So far I’ve gone into all of my pregnancies in shape.  The older I get the more important it seems.  Not in terms of weight, but in terms of strength and endurance.  It’s like training for a 9-month marathon.  One I plan on winning.  😉

IMG_4183

And I’d say that covers it.  The rest?  It’s just controlled chaos.

IMG_4188

Some days are more controlled than others.  I’ll be posting our new schedule soon.  As well as a homeschooling post, and a previously promised post on headship and submission.  In which case, you might want to stop reading this blog right now.  🙂

IMG_3149IMG_3147

2016.  May the best man win.

IMG_3151

One thought on “It’s A New Dawn

Leave a Reply

