Bringing Breakfast Back

One of the things that I knew I was going to have to deal with sooner or later was the matter of breakfast.  A couple years ago or so I went on a breakfast spree, because I love breakfast.  Or you could just say that I love eating and I don’t care what time of day I do it.  Unfortunately, my portabella egg pizzas and strawberry parfaits were repeatedly scorned by the lower classes.  So I said, “Let them eat mush!”  In fact, I didn’t very much care what they did because I don’t actually need to eat breakfast.  I would watch them eat mush and kind of feel sorry for them while drinking my tea.  Which could have gone on indefinitely, except I started to notice that some of them were turning to the dark side.  Breakfast, who needs you?  Others would only eat whatever was on top of the mush, neglecting the mush itself.  Obviously, something had to change.  Whipped cream is not breakfast.

IMG_3223

On the upside, now that I have started to make breakfast again I’ve noticed that I have a much more receptive audience.  Gideon even choked down a few bites of Dutch Baby this morning for the cause.

IMG_3234

I’m also really appreciative of the time I spent making all those crazy Pinterest breakfasts way back when.  I find it’s really easy to compile a breakfast menu and I can comb old blog posts and say, “Yes, I want to eat that.  And that.  And that.”  Only now I have a better idea of what the children like and how easy/difficult things are to make.  It’s like I’ve done this before or something.

IMG_3242 (1)

One of the things ALL of my children like are French toast bagels.  I no longer keep a toaster in this house so I just set things under the broiler.  It’s super fast and does them all at once, I just have to remember to have softened butter on hand.  Because, oddly enough though, none of the children like cream cheese.  But buttered and toasted bagels seem to be THE THING.  I can also stuff them full of eggs without too much resistance.  I run a Costco size pallet of them through the kids in a week.  And look at them, they need it.  My mother got me an electric griddle which I keep plugged in on my counter at all times.  And Jael can fry up eggs like nobody’s business.  I also do hard boiled eggs to vary it up.  I set around 8 eggs snugly in a saucepan, cover them with an inch of water, and boil them until the lid starts to rattle.  Then I pull the pan off the heat, set the timer for 6 minutes, and cool the eggs in a cold water bath.  You can adjust the time for how runny you like them.  I like the timer closer to five minutes and I think that’s just around perfect.  Unless you want to cut your toast into sticks and dip them in the yolk.  🙂

IMG_3240

So far I am really happy and I love seeing the children happy.  It makes the whole morning more enjoyable.  I have also started reading poetry while they eat.  Poetry digests well over English muffins and tea.  After eating I remind the children that I worked hard to provide them with this breakfast and now I want them to promptly get dressed and start their memory work as their part of the bargain.  Which means not reading Calvin and Hobbes with one leg in your pants or fighting over who gets to stand in front of the U.S. Presidents.  Which is why on Wednesday they were served “Mush of Iniquity.”  And did that put the fear of God in them.  Amen.

IMG_4435

There were a lot of good things on the menu these last two weeks.  Like Broccoli, Cheddar, and Wild Rice Casserole,  Tofu (or Chicken) Tikka Masala,  Eggplant Gratin with Simple Tomato Sauce, and Cashew Indian Butter Paneer.  And some other things that I don’t have links for.  Oh, but I made lemon bars at the last minute instead of lemon meringue, since I forgot I didn’t have a mixer.  And they were devourable.  (Was it the four sticks of butter?)  But even better, they were easy.  The crust and the filling were made in the same bowl of the Cuisinart and for the filling you just chucked in the whole lemon (minus the seeds.)  No zesting and no juicing!  That is all I ask.

IMG_4413

We had guests over on Thursday.  It’s such a pleasure to linger around the table for a change and get to know people a little better.  Hospitality is something I have been intentionally working on for a long time.  But I remember so often feeling like I just couldn’t get there.  Making the (somewhat fascist) move of scheduling weekly hospitality however, has really made me put my money where my mouth is.  But now that I’ve been committed to it for a while it’s becoming easier and more of a part of who we are.  The hardest part is catching someone!  😉  I kind of feel like that was the last piece to fall into place.  Now I know to do all of my stalking at church the week before.  That way I can get an immediate and verbal response.  If I email/text someone and it doesn’t work out, it’s usually too late by then to call for back-up.  Besides, there are so many new people coming into church that they’re hard to keep track of.  There is always someone!  In fact, there are so many people we’ve been meaning to have over that I’m immediately overwhelmed if I try to make a list.  Instead, I try to invite whoever God puts in my (or my husband’s) mind at that moment.  Another benefit of having my hospitality engine dusted off and ready to go is that I am free to offer impromptu invitations to people I bump into, wherever they are.  Usually, in those instances, I only have one chance to nab them because it would be years before I would see them again.  So it’s great to be able to have the confidence to say, “Hey, come over!  What about next Friday?”

Wait, why is this starting to make me feel like some kind of animal of prey?

IMG_4418

All in all I have found that investing in food in my life does not come back to me empty.  I am never put out by it.  It always returns as a blessing.  And I think that is the way God intended it.

IMG_4425

Eat happy.

IMG_4431

Like the Good Book says; “Go, eat your bread with joy, and drink your wine with a merry heart, for God has already approved what you do.  Let your garments be always white. Let not oil be lacking on your head.  Enjoy life with the wife whom you love, all the days of your vain life that He has given you under the sun, because that is your portion in life and in your toil at which you toil under the sun. Whatever your hand finds to do, do it with your might, for there is no work or thought or knowledge or wisdom in Sheol, to which you are going.”

IMG_4433

And there’s no bacon in hell.  Fake or otherwise.  😉

Leave a Reply

