Eating

A couple weeks ago at church a friend gave me a stack of Susan Branch cookbooks.  I rummaged through them and found all of our dinners for that week.  It was kind of fun.  I like the constraint of cookbooks so much more than having to scour the expanse of the internet.

img_5005

I really liked this Tomato Pesto.  It was exceptionally hardy.  Although one of my friends suggested using walnuts instead of almonds, so it would blend smoother.

img_4996

I thought this casserole was good too.  But I was the only one.  The children are just sissies, I think you should still try it.

img_4995

We are also back into the full swing of breakfast.  I think I fed them cereal for a month straight before school started.  They cried.  After taking a break I began to wonder how I managed to cook breakfast at all.  It started to seem ludicrous.  And then I made breakfast and I was like, “Oh, that’s how.”

img_4821

I think the other thing is that I would rather cook breakfast than lunch.  I can never find good lunch ideas, but I never run out of things that I want to eat for breakfast.  My current computer desktop is a photo of a British breakfast with fried black pudding.  Be still my beating heart.

img_4899

Lunch is much less romantic.  My new favorite trick is fresh salsa from the garden and a can of refried beans topped with cheese.  No dishes, no clean-up, I just throw it and them outside.  It’s magic.

img_4994

I also made this baked macaroni and thought it was really good.  But after I doubled the recipe I thought I should probably not ever feed anyone an entire block of sharp cheddar and four cups of cream in one sitting.  And even though I didn’t actually put all the cheese in, it still made me feel slightly debauched.  I served it with roasted beets and carrots which I find complements baked macaroni perfectly.  If you do this, make sure you do that.  img_4763

This is our menu from the week before last.  The Pumpkin, Spinach, & Walnut Spaghetti was surprisingly good.  The BBQ Cauliflower Tacos are an old favorite.  And the children loved the cheese enchiladas.  So there you go, if you are planning a menu you now have a place to start.

Leave a Reply

