Grandma’s House

Made a quick and dirty trip up north.  We visited Grandma at her tiny house.  Here she is making us dinner.

IMG_5759

Don’t worry, she’s got this.

IMG_5756

You can see the house she’s building in the background.  Meanwhile, she’s camped out in something the size of my van.  🙂

IMG_5761

Boy, trying to get some vacation out of his vacation.  I sat there taking this picture for a long time.

IMG_5766

Until I finally got this.  I knew it was coming.

IMG_5768

Reuben’s home!  Time to get to work.

IMG_5770

Who needs diapers?  The world is your oyster, Dude.

IMG_5776

Mom’s weiner dogs.  It’s funny, my children insist on hating all of my mother’s dogs (including the previous one).  I think it’s jealously.  My siblings don’t like them either.  They do get stepped on a lot.

IMG_5777

Summertime, and the living’s easy.  (We’re not visiting in the winter.  Advance apologies.)

IMG_5782

The view from the top of mom’s house.

IMG_5783

You know you’re loved when, out of 13 people, you’re chosen to get the bed.  Royalty.

IMG_5791

Day two, working on the house.

IMG_5793

Kittens!

IMG_5799

Handsome, eldest son.

IMG_5803

Grandma and her team, whipping up a quick dinner for 16.

IMG_5813IMG_5814

Grandma spent the day building her retaining wall with Gideon.  She tried to convince the boys that it was “just like Legos,” but Gideon was the only taker.  Stacking rocks could be a genetic affliction.  My dad had a thing.

IMG_5818

I can’t believe I didn’t get any pictures, but the children literally spent the day in Grandma’s pond.  Here they are with their finds.  I think the Water Scorpion kind of cooled their jets though.

IMG_5823

Because stacking rocks is so much fun!  (Actually, she’s just crazy.  Look at her.)

IMG_5829

Grandma Gene and the visiting puppy.  Who was instantly fawned over by everyone, including myself.  But those weiner dogs, they’re going to grow up with a complex.  I’m just remembering, but Grandma had just jettisoned the weiner dog to hold the puppy in this picture.  It’s true, no one loves you.

IMG_5834

Comparing nails with Grandma Gene.

IMG_5736

So many ways to get filthy.  Let’s try them all.

IMG_5838IMG_5841IMG_5844

The Oligarchs, attempting to retire with some dignity.

IMG_5866IMG_5845

The pool in question.  When ALL the kids are in it, with ALL the floaties, it’s quite a sight.  One that can be clearly seen from the highway.  I only wonder what the neighbors think.

IMG_5854

The boys laying concrete board.

IMG_5856IMG_5860IMG_5862

Jael modeling van life.  It is not the kind of life I ever want to live.  After this explosion, I had to get my act enough together to show up to my school reunion.  Like nothing ever happened.  (Luckily, I know people with showers.)  Because I always look this classy.

IMG_5874

Don’t we, Dude?

IMG_5877IMG_5882

Grandma has pretty amazing views.  Nice rocks, by the way.

IMG_5885

My mom’s friend Kylie was getting tired of the dog racism, and tried to teach Dude that Fernwood and Rocket were his friends.  Previously, he would come around the corner, see the dog, and streak off across the yard as fast as his stubby legs could carry him.  Screaming.

Look, progress.

IMG_5894

And, after we trashed that place, we jumped in the van and left.  “Have fun doing those dishes in your four inch sink, mom!”  Fortunately, she only has 12 dishes.  But still.

IMG_5896

Waaasted.

IMG_5901

A favorite quote of my moms: “Do you know that scarring someone for life is a surefire way to create lifelong memories?”  Yep, mom, we got it.  Thanks.

And I didn’t even tell you about The Bucket.

One thought on “Grandma’s House

Leave a comment